And now for someth-

I had planned on starting a weeklong series of protagonists on Monday. Basically, something to get you, my wonderful readers, thinking before National Novel Writing Month starts in just seven days.

Unfortunately, life in rural Idaho struck. Or, more precisely, got disconnected.

Yesterday (Monday afternoon, to be precise) our Internet access went out. Dead connection. We couldn’t get any e-mail or research done, because we had no way to bring in signals from the outside.

And where we live, it’s not like we have a whole lot of options. Out here, we get wireless high speed Internet – a whopping 6 Mbps. Yes, that’s laughably slow for some parts of the U.S. (I’ve heard some people can get speeds up to 50 Mbps. That’s just inconceivable to me). But hey, it beats dial-up.

Yes, I’m old enough to remember dial-up. We’re not doing that ever again, if we can help it.

But that’s the challenge of living in rural Idaho. Sometimes, you lose your Internet connection. Sometimes, you even lose power. For days at a time! That’s why it’s good to be prepared for these kinds of eventualities.

Wood heat is nice. It’s good to have a wood stove. But make sure you have some firewood to put in it. Otherwise, it’s just an expensive, immovable conversation piece that squats in the corner.

So that’s why I haven’t started on the series yet. Maybe I’ll give it a go tomorrow, or perhaps on Thursday, and continue it through Halloween.

I’m probably going to be busy with my next, great novel after that. For around 30 days or so. I hope you’ll be willing to join me!

 

Leave a Reply

