It’s coming… get ready!

I’ve mentioned this previously, but now it’s time to face it head-on. Because there is only one month left to go. Probably less than one month, by the time you read this.

Are you ready? Are you prepared? Are you participating?

It’s National Novel Writing Month, and it starts November 1!

National Novel Writing Month is an annual, on-line event that takes place every November. Participants challenge themselves to complete a 50,000 word draft over the course of one month – only 30 days! This works out to an average of 1,667 words written per day.

Which really isn’t too many, when you think about it. But for many writers, it’s a frightening hurdle to overcome.

But it’s worth it. I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but had never tried actually writing a huge novel before (my previous works, written in elementary school, may have reached 20,000 or so). The first year I tried it, I managed to hit 50,000 words with three days to go. It was an exhilarating feeling. I had always wanted to be a writer… and now I knew I could be a writer! I had proof! I had a first draft right there on my computer.

I’ve participated every year since then, with the exception of two years where I was beta-testing games for Spiderweb Software. As a result, I have six “wins” under my belt, and five novels (the last two years were parts 1 and 2 of one novel, and I still have a couple more chapters to go before the first draft is actually finished). I’ve submitted one novel to several publishers, but so far it hasn’t been picked up. Hopefully that will change soon.

So if you want to be a writer, I invite you to take the challenge as well! One month, 50,00 words, and you’ll be able to prove it to yourself as well. You know I’ll be cheering you on.

But how do you prepare for this kind of thing? Should you prepare for this sort of thing? I’ll give some tips and advice in the coming days. But for those of you veterans to NaNoWriMo, please feel free to put your tips in the comments! Others could benefit from your advice as well. What do you do to get ready to write like a maniac?

 

 

Leave a Reply

