How about a poetry slam! In the most literal sense – I’m going to slam poetry.

I’ve never been much of a fan of poetry, really. Even all the way back in high school, when I took creative writing classes, the teacher, Georgia Tiffany Toppe, wanted to start by teaching us all poetry.

It sort of paid off because it helped me to learn how to write in a colorful, yet abbreviated fashion. This was later further reinforced by my time at the Moscow-Pullman Daily News. Why write two dozen words when five will do?

But at the time, I wasn’t fond of the approach. I didn’t really like poetry. And I still don’t, for the most part.

(Incidentally, a part of the reason for this post is to explain myself to you, my dear readers. I thank you all for reading and following my humble blog. I often try to return the favor but if most of your work is poetry… I’m sorry, but I’m not much of a fan of poetry.)

My wife and I have been going over our personality tests lately (I’m an INTP and she’s an INFP, and we make a great couple!), and I’ve learned that my personality type apparently has a reputation for being somewhat emotionless.

Or rather, in my case, I do have emotions. I just set them aside until I need them later. I have better things to do than get emotional.

But I think that this also has been what’s affected my outlook in most forms of poetry. A lot of poetry is centered around love or emotional turmoil. It’s a way for the author to express their feelings about a flower, or a lover, or a relationship.

Me, I tend to spot the typos, where the meter fails, and if the rhymes match up. I have an annoying tendency to focus more on the structure of the poem, rather than the content. As a result, most poetry is lost on me. This isn’t to say that I hate poetry – after all, it has its place.

Especially in the greeting card industry.

So I do apologize to my fellow writers – those I have known, those I know now, those I have yet to meet – but you don’t want me to read your poems. And you really don’t want me to edit your poems. Otherwise, our conversation will probably be like this:

You: What did you think of my poem?

Me: I thought it was good, for the most part. I circled the words in red that were misspelled, and you have too many syllables in the third line. 

You: But how did my poem make you feel?

Me: … I’m sorry, I didn’t understand the question.

Now if you have a short story or a novel, I’d love to give that a look! As long as it isn’t written in verse. If you’d like, you can e-mail me, and we can chat about what you have to offer, and the editing / proofreading services I can provide. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

