“The unexamined life is not worth living.”

A few years ago, I read a quote by Steve Jobs. I’ve written about Jobs before. The founder of Apple Computers, the guy was a genius.

Nutty as a squirrel, but a genius nonetheless.

In any case, the quote is one that I’ve been turning over in my mid for a while now. It is this:

For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.

It’s a place where I’ve found myself for the past few years. The challenge has been trying to figure out where to proceed from here. What do I need to do to change that “no” to a “yes?”

I get the feeling that I’m not alone, either. Too many people are stuck in a situation or routine that they don’t like. They want to make their lives better. They hate their jobs, or their classes, or their relationships, whatever. But day after day, they still do the same thing. Why is that?

More than likely, because it’s comfortable. We are creatures of habit. People often don’t like doing things differently because that would mean change, and change is scary. So as odd as it sounds, we remain unhappy in our comfort zones.

But life is too short to spend most if it trapped in unhappy circumstances. We’re not here to be miserable. We all need to find our way to step out of that routineĀ – out of that comfort zone – in order to find our purpose in this crazy world. What truly makes you happy? Are you doing that right now? If not, why not? As one of my previous blog posts asked, “What’s stopping you?”

The title of this post is not from Steve Jobs, but a much older source. According to the ancient Greek philosopher Plato, this was something Socrates said during his trial. So this struggle is hardly a new thing! We should all take time to examine our lives. Try to determine if we truly are happy. And if we’re not, then we should take that as a cue that we need to change things.

I’ll go ahead and end with another quote from Steve Jobs. It’s specifically related to work, but that’s a big factor in most of our lives – and our happiness – anyway.

Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.

Once again, thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on ““The unexamined life is not worth living.”

Leave a Reply

