My daughter has fallen in love!

So my twelve-year-old daughter has fallen in love. And it was love at first sight. All it took was about 90 minutes, and it’s started a passion in her that will likely last the rest of her life.

Some people think that she might be a bit young for this sort of thing. But I whole-heartedly approve. I think that she and her beloved will be a good match, and I look forward to see how she develops as part of this relationship.

No, it’s not just one guy. It’s a bunch of guys, actually. And a few women. And a kid. And an android.

And one great big starship to hold them all. A certain starship named the U.S.S. Enterprise.

The other night, she sat down with me and my wife to watch the pilot episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation. And she was instantly hooked. She now wants to watch the entire series, and the spinoffs. And probably the movies, too.

Frankly, I think it’s a good sign that my daughter is eager to embrace science fiction. I’ve always viewed Star Trek as an optimistic vision of the future – a place where humanity (and more) are willing to live with their differences, and even embrace them, to unite for a common cause. To seek out new life and new civilizations, and to boldly go where no one has gone before.

Given her keen interests in biology – especially veterinary medicine – I have a feeling that she will want to aggressively pursue a scientific degree when she gets to the collegiate level, too. People have been saying that there need to be more women involved in scientific fields. With both of my daughters’ interests (my younger one wants to be an entomologist), I think they’ll be more than willing to jump right in.

Plus, my eldest daughter will likely make some nerdy boy very happy in the future. Maybe they’ll get married while they’re dressed as Klingons or something.

Hmm… I’d better not get too ahead of myself. She’s only twelve. And she has a lot of Star Trek to watch still.

… and after that, maybe some Doctor Who.

 

Leave a Reply

